Pullet only laying soft shelled eggs

Discuss all chook related things here!
Also:
* The Library

Pullet only laying soft shelled eggs

Postby Chickago2012 » Tue Jan 31, 2017 8:08 pm

Hello We have a wyandotte pullet which we bought off trademe as "just starting to lay" . the lady said they were soft shelled eggs and she was feeding her dolomite for that.
We have had her for 4 -5 weeks she has only ever laid soft shelled eggs. i have fed her a good diet since , free ranging and good quality pellets with food scraps and egg shells for extra calcium , but to no avail yet? Can this problem be fixed?
Chickago2012
Chick
Chick

Re: Pullet only laying soft shelled eggs

Postby nhb » Wed Feb 01, 2017 2:05 am

If they are pullets from this breeding season that would mean that they were laying around or before Xmas, I am no expert for this breed but to me it means that they have started to lay very early for a heavy breed which is a good thing. But it also makes me a little suspicious as to are they really pullets I hope iam wrong, but not everything on trade me is what it is made out to be. You can expect a few soft shell eggs from the odd pullet but if you are doing what you say I wouldn't of thought this would be a problem. or continue
nhb
Quail
Quail

Postby Marina » Wed Feb 01, 2017 8:47 am

Wyandottes take a bit longer to start to lay than North Holland Blues - somewhere around 7 to 8 months - so your Wyandotte pullet may well be this season's breeding.

Sometimes, when a pullet starts to lay for the first time, her glands are a bit out of sync and she may lay an egg before the shell is put around it. Or, sometimes, they lay a perfectly formed egg followed by a shell-less egg. Others lay the occasional double yolker.