Choosing the right breed

A place to discuss or ask questions about specific breeds!

Also contains a list of what breeds our members are currently breeding.

Choosing the right breed

Postby panda007 » Thu Nov 02, 2017 8:18 pm

Hi everyone - I hope you can help me with the decision of choosing the right breed for our new coop. We are total newbies to chicken keeping, so want to get a suitable breed for a beginner. We are thinking we would like a breed that is friendly, okay with kids, will give us a reasonable amount of eggs and preferbly not broody. Suggestions with pros and cons would be greatly appreciated. Thanks :-)
panda007
Chick
Chick

Re: Choosing the right breed

Postby Marina » Fri Nov 03, 2017 10:39 am

Generally the heavy breeds will meet these requirements. They tend to be calm, most lay reasonably well. I see you are in Rangiora. I'm in Christchurch and I hope to have day-old Black Orpington pullets for sale soon. It's a nice project for children to raise them from chicks, they can live outside (at this time of year) from 6 weeks old onwards. So you need a heat source for them for the first 4, maybe 5 weeks or so. These are Black Orpingtons from an excellent laying strain (not the huge exhibition strain I also have).

Other breeds that are likely to meet your requirements are Sussex (especially the Buff), Plymouth Rocks (especially the black and the buff), North Holland Blue, New Hampshire Red, Australorp. All heavy breed hens may go broody on occasion but some breeds are much more likely to do so than others. Wyandottes are the most likely of the heavy breeds to go broody. They look stunning, though.
Marina
Emu
Emu

Postby sewren » Fri Nov 03, 2017 3:36 pm