Araucana and colours

A place to discuss or ask questions about specific breeds!

Also contains a list of what breeds our members are currently breeding.

Araucana and colours

Postby valleygirl » Sat May 11, 2013 6:41 pm

Hi there
Last season, I bought several clutches of the 'coloured' Araucana eggs - partridge and mixed duckwing mostly.
Now, I see from a search here that the coloured Araucanas might be a bit controversial :evil: , however, although I've been keeping poultry for 30 years, I have only ever done it for my own enjoyment. I don't show and I don't breed seriously, although I do enjoy my purebred bantams and raise some replacements each year or two. So I'm just in it for fun really ;)
Anyway - I was a bit bored with lavender, so I got some coloured Araucanas and I really love the hens; they are gorgeous.

But I have three roosters and I cannot make my mind up which one to keep, or whether I should keep one at all.
There is a partridge who looks ok for form to me. A (I think) red/black (or is it black/red?) who is nice, except he does not hold his beak shut and I wonder if he has a beak deformity. It shuts fine when I - gently of course! ;) - pinch it with my fingers, and I cannot see anything wrong, but he always has it open a crack.
The third roo is I think a silver duckwing and does not have any muffs and has too much wattle, so I think he is out.

I was starting to think I might be better just getting a white Araucana rooster later for the girls (if I can find one), rather than working with what I've got. Probably the partridge is the best looking bird of the three, but I don't know what I'll get if I put him over the hens I've got, which are all supposed to be duckwing. Probably just something ugly?! I haven't really dabbled in colours very much previously.

I'd be interested in your thoughts. Cheers.
valleygirl
Chick
Chick

Re: Araucana and colours

Postby glendaandrob » Sat May 11, 2013 11:04 pm